How I Blog From Prison

735142_302329369896426_1572679712_n

I’m in prison. That means NO internet access. Right now I’m sitting in my cell with a BIC pen and a pad of paper. I write in cursive.

When I’m done writing, I send it out through the Post Office.

I send it to my wife, Suzie. It takes about 3-4 days to reach her. She then types my blogs and clicks “publish”. This method is so old school that I’m probably the only person in the world who blogs this way.

The process is a little slow since we are using the US Postal Service. We thank you for your understanding and patience.

But very soon this old school writing style will be a thing in the past for me. Modern technology is finally catching up to all the inmates in prison.

There’s this thing called JPay. It’s a big stainless steel computer that’s bolted to the dayroom wall. I get 3 logins per day. And each login is only 15 minutes. JPay allows me to email friends and family. I buy 60 estamps for $10. One email costs one estamp. It’s cheaper and faster than sending snail mail.

Why don’t I blog using JPay? Because I simply don’t have enough time. Fifteen minutes goes by super fast.

But all that is about to change with the JP4.

jp4

The JP4 costs about $49.99 and will be available for purchase very soon.

It will allow me to relax and not worry about my time limit while I write emails & blogs. The JP4 is a 5 inch handheld touch screen. It’s mine. I keep it in my cell and I can use it as often as I want. It offers all the same features as JPay, which include: receiving pics, videos, emails, and downloading music. Songs cost anywhere from $.99 to $1.99 per song. The JP4 will also allow inmates to buy & watch movies. A USB cord is compatible with the TV inside our cells. The TV’s are 14 inch flat screens. So instead of watching a movie on a 5 inch screen, I can hook it up to my 14 inch TV. Not bad for being in prison!

So right now I blog using a pen & paper. In a month or two I’ll be able to blog using my JP4. I’ll email it to my wife, then she will “cut & paste” it to my blog.

Any Q’s? Feel free to ask. View me as your direct connection to the inside.

Have a nice day & enjoy your freedom.

 

thYE93MG9I
Steven Jennings

19 thoughts on “How I Blog From Prison

  1. Sharron says:

    Hello Steven, Thanks for following my blog prisonchat.com. So, I read your first chapter and will buy your book. It looks interesting! I’m happy to see someone who is truly sorry for their actions.
    I’m blogging to give friends and families of inmates information and support. My son is incarcerated in a federal prison in Texas, so I know all about being the family and support for an inmate.
    I wish you well and am following your blog now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Stone City Blog Network says:

      I feel ya! My process does present challenges. I also have a little OCD going on. I’ve developed philosophies to help me cope. Here are a few:

      “Stress is a choice”

      “Problems don’t exist…only solutions”

      “Focus on what matters”

      Have a great day!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Michelle says:

    There’s a lot to be said for old school cursive writing and it’s a word I haven’t heard in a long time.
    From everything negative can come something positive and your attitude is key. I wish you well and it’s a very interesting blog!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Steven D. Jennings says:

      I’m actually on the jp4 right now as I respond to my comments. I’ve been at it for over 6 hrs.I have nothing but time in prison. My friends and family help out with all the expenses. Oh…and my ebook has sold over 80 downloads. That adds up to a few bucks. Speaking of which, do you know how I can get my ebook in front of 100million eyeballs?

      Like

  3. sonniq says:

    At least you know how to write in cursive. It’s been eliminated from school. They don’t teach it anymore. Kids only learn how to print. I guess they think kids don’t need it anymore. It’s soon to be a lost way to communicate. I, too use Josh as well as tapping into their forum. But Jamie’s letters to me are in cursive. Maybe someday hell be able to use jpay4.

    Like

  4. Tammy says:

    Hi Steven so my husband has the Jp4 i believe. I know hes able to write from his house and connect it at the kiosk so he’s not in a hurry. Hope you get it soon its so nice being able to get long , thought out emails instead of emails that are rushed

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kristine says:

    Oh wow. your dedication for blogging really does make great thing. I just stumbled upon your site on twitter since you followed me, which is first: thank you 🙂 this post was a good one, and I hope to read your future posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lynn anderson says:

      I know Steven infact we have same birthday I am very happy for him we wrote I talked to him on phone when I stayed with family of his he turn some awful into a very good helpful for alot of people can not wait to read his book alot of power in forgiveness I too have been making amends one to his mom bless it be to all lynn

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

