My Letter To Suzie’s Family

thCAK5GVJF

Who would want their daughter, sister, aunt, or any family member to get involved with a man in prison? Not me! I could only imagine.

But this is the situation for Suzie’s family. She’s involved with me. We’re in love. We’re getting married. And her family doesn’t even know.

So, Suzie & I feel like it’s time to let them know about our relationship. Here is the first letter that I’ve written to her family:

***

Dear Suzie’s Family,

Um…Hi. I’m a little nervous, so please bare with me. Thank you for taking the time to read this. I sincerely hope you do so with an open mind.

What is love?
What does it mean to truly love someone?
What is the ultimate goal in life?

To me, these answers are quite simple.
The ultimate goal is to be happy. To truly love someone means to treat them with respect and compassion at all times. Love is kind, gentle, and understanding.

I love Suzie. She is so sweet, kind, and compassionate. I recognize all her unique personal characteristics, and I absolutely love who she is as a person.

I promise all of you that I will always treat Suzie with love and respect. All I want to do is bring her happiness and joy.

Suzie & I confide in each other. Our love is open and honest without the fear of ridicule or harsh judgment. We have a strong foundation of trust and honesty that has allowed our relationship to grow into something very special. I’ve never known anything like this before. But now that I’ve experienced this, I want it forever.

Forever is a long time. That means peeks and valleys are on the horizon. When dilemma’s and conflicts appear, I promise to seek peaceful solutions that won’t upset the harmony of our relationship. In doing so, these type of situations that usually breaks others down, will only strengthen us.

Suzie inspires me in so many ways. She inspires me to keep on the righteous path and to work hard towards my goals. She inspires me to dream of a life full of love, joy, and happiness. And now she has given me the opportunity to achieve all my dreams. I promise to do the same for her. Through love, support, and understanding, I will inspire my lovely lady to be the best she can be and to reach her full potential. I will encourage her every step of the way as she works towards her goals. Suzie has dreams and desires. Together, we will fulfill them.

Suzie has a lifelong partner in me. My incarceration has enabled me to view life through a different lens. I appreciate my blessings. I cherish my friends and family. And I absolutely worship my lady. I promise to do everything within my power to make Suzie happy and to maintain this strong circle of harmony that surrounds our relationship.

Suzie is the best thing that’s ever happened to me. She inspires me to be the best thing that’s ever happened to her. She is an amazing woman who I love with all my heart. She deserves so much better than a man in prison. That’s one of the many reasons why I am so committed to giving her a very special kind of love. The kind of love she deserves, the kind of love she desires and longs for. A love that only knows peace & harmony.

Please give me and my love for Suzie a chance. Please see me for who I am, not where I am. I know you have questions. Feel free to ask anything. I’ll always respond with a honest answer.

In closing, I’d like to point out that I could’ve wrote anything on these pages. And that wouldn’t necessarily make it true. People can say anything. So please just view this letter as an outline of what to expect from me. The tangible truth will be found within my actions, and by the way I will always treat Suzie.

Sincerely,
Steven D. Jennings

7 thoughts on “My Letter To Suzie’s Family

  1. Tammy says:

    Have you received a response from your wife’s family as of yet? Me and my fiance are going through the marriage process now and I am trying to write a letter to explain everything to my family but it’s hard when people are judgemental. Also my fiance is at crcc what is the counseling process like? Is it all 3 of us on the phone or is it individual? What kind of things are you asked I’m not too worried just curuous. How long did you and your wife know each other before getting married?

    Thanks:)

    Like

    • Stone City Blog says:

      Hi Tammy, thanks for contacting me. Congrats on your engagement! It can be hard telling family. Be understanding of their feelings, and let them adjust to your marriage in their own way. Don’t rush anything, and just tell them your honest feelings. My wife’s family is still coming around. I had the opportunity recently to meet my wife’s mom and aunt. It was great!
      When writing your letter, just be honest about how the two of you feel. Speak from your heart. Don’t let anyone’s judgment interfere with what the two of you share together.

      The counseling process is different at every facility. My wife and I live in different states, so we did our marriage counseling via a 3-way phone call (supervised of course, by my counselor). We were asked questions like: goals, money, marriage, love, how we met, our future plans, family/kids, how are we going to stay strong and make this type of relationship work, etc. Don’t worry about a thing, it’s nothing to stress over at all.

      My wife, Suzie, and I knew each other for about 15 months before we got married.

      Congrats and good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. sonniq says:

    Steve, I know you’ve been inside for a long time with a long time still to go. I hope you still be paroled a long time before the end. I’ve learned, over time, the different levels and classifications and the restrictions they give and take away expecting certain, often unreasonable behaviors that when broken adds more restrictions. What level are you after all this time? Jamie, my adopted son just finished 9 years. After recently, a few weeks ago, after finally being able to make his first phone call ever, they found away to take it away from him again because a guard brought a case against him. He argued with a guard being accused of something he didn’t do. They also took away his rec and commissary except once a month. At this point what are your privileges? Do you have contact visits? A job? Do you get paid anything? Jamie is in Texas. They don’t pay anything. They say they give good time instead, but that’s a joke. He had worked his way up from ad seg for more than 4 years, (which for anyone reading this, that is solitary confinement) to finally G2. They didn’t take that away but put him on restrictions for 3 months. Have you been able to go to school? Have you had your conjugal yet? (smile)

    Like

    • Steven D. Jennings says:

      Hi Sonniq. Thank you for your comment and interest. I am currently in minimum security. Yes, I get contact visits. I have a Porter job that pays $0.42/hr. I apply for different classes to participate in, sometimes I get accepted and sometimes I don’t. I am able to go out to the yard daily. I attend a cardio class 3 times per week, and I pay monthly fee to have access to the weight room/gym. My wife and I will be getting our 1st EFV (conjugal visit) in 2017…we are looking forward to it 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • sonniq says:

        Lucky you – but i guess with the time you’ve already waiting to spend with Suzie, that 2017 will fell like it’s just around the corner!

        I was looking at one of your pictures and saw many things that I don’t think are an option for Jamie – too many weapon looking pointy things, but it looks like you have done as well as you could with what you’ve got, since it’s the only home you had you;ve made it a space that is yours. Being in Min security allows you more privileges. Being able to even make .42 an hour is at least something. In Texas they don’t pay people anything for any reason. You’re just supposed to be happy to do something. They say you accrue good time but they have ways to take it away.

        Jamie just got put back in Solitary. A boy friend/girlfriend guard that pushed til he got angry. They wouldn’t let him attend his “trial”, even the guard duo weren’t there. He was judged by people who didn’t even witness what happened, and was found guilty. He wants to write up the guard. he has been so good not responding to their taunting – which they do to set you off so they can write you up. It was such a set up. They pushed a little too hard and he argued back. For that he lost everything allover again. he’s been so discouraged. When he comes up for parole again in Oct 2016, how can he ever prove what he’s done to better himself? I think that is the goal. To keep him there. If were to give you his address, would you write him a few lines of encouragement?

        Like

        • Steven D. Jennings says:

          Yes! Everyday Suzie and I get closer to our 2017 “wedding night”! Thank you for your comment. I’m sorry to hear about Jamie and him being in solitary. I don’t ever wish that on anyone. I’m afraid its against policy for inmates to correspond to other inmates. Perhaps you could print out a couple of a couple of my blogs to send him? Here are a few of my favorite sayings:

          “Stress is a choice”

          “Problems don’t exist, only solutions”

          “If you think you can, you’re right. If you think you can’t, you’re right.”

          “Keep your words sweet. You may have to eat them one day”

          Liked by 1 person

          • sonniq says:

            I like those blogs choices. I will copy them into jpay emails for him. The easier way to send things and he gets them the next day. He’s hoping to get out of his confinement by the end of April. Hopefully then he will get his phone privileges again. I’m working hard on his book. I should send Suzie a couple chapters for you to read. See what you think, having done quite a bit of writing yourself. I’ll write to her. Some feed back would be good. You know why I’m writing his story. When he gets out he will need money to live. I have a dream, and dreams never happen unless you make them happen. Thanks for answering. This must keep her really busy, doing all of this for both blogs. i know how that is. What I need is four hands!

            Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

