Christmas Door Decorating Contest 2013

door contest, Jan 2014

Every year around Christmas time, SCCC has a door decorating contest. I’ve never participated before. I thought it was corny. Stupid. I never thought I would participate.

I was talking to my fiancé, Suzie, on the phone when I mentioned this contest to her. Before I knew it, we were brainstorming ideas for my door. I was lost in sweet conversation with the woman I love. Not once did I think any of her ideas were corny or stupid. Her genuine enthusiasm for this whole door decorating idea was definitely contagious.

At that moment, I recognized the power of her love. And how being in love with her has changed my heart.

I walked into my cell and said, “Thomas! We’re decorating our door!” He thought I was joking. Then I started telling him about 3D snowmen, trees, and fireplaces. After a short moment, he knew I was serious. Thomas was more into it than I was. And to be honest, he did most of the work. I mainly got the supplies, came up with the ideas, and supervised.

The door is covered with cardboard. The Christmas tree, the snowman, and the fireplace mantel are all 3D. So are the Christmas presents too. On the mantel is a cup of milk and some cookies. The stockings say Steve & Tom. The whole thing took about 40 hours to make.

We got 2nd place. Our prize was a loaf of banana bread. It was delicious!

I know we could’ve done a better job on this door. And next year we will. We’ll add 3D flames in the fireplace. All the trees will be 3D. We’ll make the clouds outta cotton. Trust me, next year will be better. Next year we’ll get 1st!

Hope you all enjoyed the holiday season.

-Steven Jennings

One thought on “Christmas Door Decorating Contest 2013

Leave a Comment

