Creating Your Lifestyle

 

thd0ydgjn5

 

I never dreamed life could be this easy. Let me tell you about this amazing life I live. I know a lot of people hate their jobs; they stress over lack of money and bills stacking up. Think about all the stress in your life; and just know there are millions of people with the same issues.

However, my life is extraordinary; by no means is it even close to “normal”. How would you like it if you could hit the snooze button all day? Wouldn’t it feel good to be able to sleep when it’s time to get up? Well, for me, I can stay in bed all day if I so desire, and sometimes I do. It all depends on how I feel. Usually I get out of bed around noon so I can participate in activities I love. It takes me about ten minutes to get ready. So, as I do, I turn on my TV to MTV or VH1. I like to start my day with music.

After I get ready for the day, it’s time to eat something. I don’t put much time or effort into this task. I have people who cook for me. It’s nice to be able to walk to the kitchen and have a hot meal waiting. All I have to do is eat; I don’t prepare anything or clean up. All my meals are this way.

After I eat, I usually go play one of my favorite games, handball. On average I play seven days a week. Sometimes I’ll take a day off if I feel like it. I’m also on a softball team during the summer, which I love! I’m the lead off batter and I play left field. My team is very good. We always have a good season, even if we don’t win the championship. In the past ten years our team has won six championships and came in second place twice. I also spend my days playing soccer, basketball, and working out. I never thought my life would be so easy and stress free.

I don’t pay any bills; as a matter of fact, I can’t even remember the last time I received a bill. Yet, my TV always turns on when I press the power button. Every time I flick a light switch, the lights come on. My water is always running and hot when I need it. The ice machine is always full of ice. My house is always heated in the winter and air conditioned in the summer.

I thought life was supposed to be full of responsibilities, deadlines, and commitments. Heck, it’s not that way for me. All I do is have fun, joke around, and play games. Where’s the responsibility? I even have someone who does my laundry; they pick it up dirty and return it clean. OK, I admit it…I do fold it, but only if it’s already been cleaned.

After a long day of playing games or just lying around, I like to spend my evenings playing a card game called Pinochle. I really enjoy this game; I’ve spent up to ten hours in a single day playing Pinochle. It’s what I do to relax if I don’t feel like playing sports or working out. This lifestyle is quite simple. If I don’t feel like doing something, I don’t. And why should I?

This is my life; it’s not like there is someone who can fire me from life. This lifestyle of mine is like being on vacation. I move at my own pace and I choose my own activities.

How would you like to live a life like this? Just think about it. A life where everything you’ll ever need is handed to you. Other people pay everything for you; your clothes, your food, your house, and all the services to keep things functioning. And better yet, you’ll never have to pay any money back. Any time you get sick or need a dentist, the services are there immediately, and there is absolutely no money out of your pocket. Never again will you have to stress over the basic necessities of life, like millions upon millions do.

Life is too short for all the stress and worry. That’s why I’ve decided to enjoy my life to the fullest. I’ve learned to appreciate the things I have and the time I’m provided with on this wonderful earth God has created. I recognize my blessings and cherish every one of them. Even the ones I have to create myself. Only a fool would take life for granted, regardless of how you live.

I know this is easy for me to say considering I have everything I’ll ever need. However, this lifestyle is so easy; anyone can achieve it. You don’t need a college education or even a high school diploma. People who dropped out of school at the age of 12 or started to abuse drugs and alcohol everyday can achieve this lifestyle. Full-blown junkies can live this lifestyle, and many do. The only thing you need to do to create this lifestyle is come to prison.

Author’s Note

I’ve been in prison since the age of 20. I’m now 41 and I have 18 years left to serve. I’d gladly trade in my prison life for a free life full of responsibilities, commitments, and deadlines, which naturally create stress. Unfortunately, this is not an option for me. So, I’ve chosen to focus on all the positive aspects of life. Even from behind bars, life is what you make of it. The quality of your life depends on what you choose to focus and dwell on. Accept hardship and stress as a natural part of existence, then just let it roll off your back like water off a duck. Seek out all the good and all the beauties in this world; help create them. Take the time to comprehend and actually enjoy life’s little pleasures. Enjoy the moment and let it soak in, rather than letting it pass by with a quick laugh. If I can be this free within the filthy boundaries of prison, just imagine what you can do in the midst of Gods beauty.

NOTE: I wrote this 10 years ago.

 

abc

Steven Jennings

One thought on “Creating Your Lifestyle

Leave a Comment

