Proverbs Chapter 9

th2A0LMX76

 

“Whoever corrects a mocker invites insult; whoever rebukes a wicked man incurs abuse.” Proverbs 9:7.

Back in the day, I was that mocker. I was a mocking fool. I hated my environment and everyone in it. Even the people I liked and got along with, deep down I hated them.

I can specifically remember back to 2006. I was mocking Ronny in front of dayroom full of people. I was mocking the way he walked & talked. I was making everyone laugh at his expense.

In return, Ronny rebuked me. He started to mock me. He walked around with his chest pushed out, talking about, “I’n Steve Jennings. I’m better than everyone else. I’ll beat your ass! Whoopty whoop, whoopty whoop.”

Then everyone started laughing at me. My mind instantly switched gears and I got hostile and aggressive. I got in Ronnie’s face, nose to nose, and said through a clinched jaw, “You’re right, I am better than your junkie heroin ass. And you’re right, I will beat your ass!” Then I pushed him.

He said, “Oh, you can dish it out but can’t take it!”

As I walked toward him I said, “Keep talking and I’ll wire your jaw shut.”

At this point, no one was laughing anymore. The tension was high as everyone expected a fight.

I tell this story to illustrate the truth in these scriptures.

As I think back over the years, I can recall numerous times when I shot insults to those who were simply trying to correct me.

“If you are wise, your wisdom will reward you; if you are a mocker, you alone will suffer.” Proverbs 8:12

For years I was a mocker. And for years, I suffered. Today I seek wisdom and understanding. Today I will focus on the scriptures and live in harmony with the word of God. Today will be a good day.

Thank you for reading.

 

thYE93MG9I

Sincerely,

Steven

6 thoughts on “Proverbs Chapter 9

  1. luckyotter says:

    Steven, although I am not as much of a Bible reader as you are, there is so much truth in these sayings and how it has affected your life for the better. I just discovered your blog and think it’s wonderful and inspiring. (I even nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award, which I already posted under another post). I hope you don’t mind if I reblog this because I think others can be inspired by the message here too.

    Like

  2. luckyotter says:

    Reblogged this on a safe place and commented:
    Even though I don’t read the Bible as much as this prison inmate, there is so much wisdom in these Proverbs which have turned this blogger’s life around. Steven has a wonderful message here about bullying, a pervasive and evil thing which hurts the wrongdoer as much as their targets. Follow this man’s blog to be inspired.

    Like

Leave a Comment

