A Different Brand of Religion

thPUCMNPDH

Just yesterday someone asked me, “How can you serve God when you don’t even believe in God?”

My answer was quick and simple, “The Lord works in mysterious ways.”

Then I went and prayed to a God who I don’t even know exists. I prayed, “Dear Heavenly Father, please remove all doubt from my mind. Why do I think this way? Why do I question if you’re real? Please Lord, show me beyond a shadow of doubt that you are real. Please forgive me of having thoughts of doubts. In the name of Jesus, Amen.”

I’ve been praying these type of prayers for years.

I stayed away from God and religion because I didn’t know if God was real. I still don’t know. But I will no longer use that as an excuse to stay away from God.

Despite my beliefs, I will continue to pray to God. I will continue to read my Bible. I will continue to live by the scriptures. And I will continue to seek guidance.

Some things are hard for me to explain. There’s so much I don’t understand. But this much I do know: My life is so much better now that I’ve committed to the Lord, and based my life upon biblical principles.

Who knows what the future holds. But today, on this set of 24 hours, I will obey the fundamental teachings of the Bible.

PRAYER REQUEST: Please ask God to erase any and all doubt.

Thank you.

 

thYE93MG9I

Steven Jennings

15 thoughts on “A Different Brand of Religion

  1. Patricia Ann says:

    I prayed your request, Steven, and will share my experience with you. God may now be removing your doubt, and when you feel that Power, fall to your knees and promise Him you will never doubt again. It’s called complete surrender. Then whenever you feel doubt you will remember your promise and overcome immediately. That has been my experience and this is my prayer for you. Abundant Blessings! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. gw says:

    It’s easy to imagine myself an atheist. I think of a Christian, then remove experience, reason, and accountability. Stumbling through periods of disbelief is part of the Christian experience. “For now we see through a glass, darkly(welder’s lense?); but then face to face: now I know in part; but then shall I know even as also I am known.” I Cor. 13:12

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Heather says:

    In Luke 11:5-13, Jesus instructed listeners to persistently “ask, seek and knock” and promised that God would not withhold the Holy Spirit from those who ask Him.
    Your prayer is in alignment to His words and I’m praying with you that you will be given complete peace regarding the question of God’s existence.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus says:

    I stayed away from God and religion because I didn’t know if God was real. I still don’t know. But I will no longer use that as an excuse to stay away from God …..

    Do you want to know if He is real Steven or continue in your unbelief, it may be easier but is a dead end, you can’t commit to someone who you don’t know is real which means your words are empty and playing the game is not the same as living the Truth.

    But without faith it is impossible to please Him: for he that cometh to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him. Hebrews 11:5-7 (KJV)

    The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good. – Psalm 14:1(KJV)

    Christian Love – Anne

    Like

    • lady2soothe says:

      Christian Love – Anne, unless I’m misunderstanding your comment “

      Do you want to know if He is real Steven or continue in your unbelief, it may be easier but is a dead end, you can’t commit to someone who you don’t know is real which means your words are empty and playing the game is not the same as living the Truth.

      Faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. Hebrews 11:1-40 . Whatever you ask in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours. Mark 11:22-25

      I stayed away from God and religion because I didn’t know if God was real. I still don’t know. But I will no longer use that as an excuse to stay away from God.

      Sounds like Steven is exercising his faith in the assurance of things hoped for.

      So rather than “have mercy on those who doubt” Jude 1:22, you’ve chosen to condemn Steven, judging him through a skewered sense of false entitlement and a self- satisfying set of distorted moral concepts. Your opinion of “playing the game is not the same as living the Truth” and is YOUR personal opinion, NOT *The Word* . Realize YOU’RE not living the Truth because if you were you’d remember “Judge not, lest you be not judged. For with the judgment you pronounce you will be judged, and with the measure you use it will be measured to you. Matthew 7:1-5 .

      So are YOU ready to be judged by others?

      Like

      • Freedomborn ... Aussie Christian Focus says:

        It seems you don’t have much understanding of the Scriptures lady2soothe Mark 11:22-25 is in reference to Christians, not unbelievers, God does not hear the prayers of sinners unless they are for heart repentance which you can’t do if you don’t believe He exists and Stephen will be without excuse if He continues in his unbelief because God’s reality is in His Creation.

        John 9:31-32 Now we know that God heareth not sinners: but if any man be a worshipper of God, and doeth His will, him He heareth.(KJV)

        I didn’t judge Stephen God does, so do you believe what He tells us lady2soothe or do you think He is deceived and judgmental too …. God not me tells us that ……. The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good. Psalm 14:1(KJV)

        Yes if needed lady2soothe I am ready to be judged but not by your Carnal fleshy agenda or anyone elses but by God’s Truth, it seems you also don’t know we are to rebuke those who sin in the Church and to do so we have to judge that they are sinning but only by God’s Truth, it is not Love to let Satan get a foothold in someones life or to allow anyone to pollute God’s Church, yes Jesus got the Whip out! but this is not in reference to weaknesses and shortcomings which we don’t judge, we all have them. We are also not to judge a person’s Eternal Destiny, they may repent on their deathbed and I never said Stephen was going to Hell, I don’t know his heart only God does. I was asking him because he claims not to believe there is a God if he wants proof of His reality which I have.

        God also tells us to test the spirit so we know a persons real heart focus, did you test Stephen’s spirit lady 2soothe? one thing The Holy Spirit does not do when He is drawing us to God is motivate us to seek after worldly wealth, or does he motivate us to deceive….Stephen also contradicted himself.

        I strongly suggest lady2soothe that you ask for God’s wisdom and empowering so you can understand His Truth, we were not born with them but when you do be sure you believe you have received them, just like I do, or do you also think God lies and doesn’t keep His promises?

        Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

        James 1:5-6 If any of you lack wisdom, let him ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord. A double minded man is unstable in all his ways.

        Luke 11:13 …… how much more shall your Heavenly Father give the Holy Spirit to them that ask Him?

        Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne.

        Like

        • lady2soothe says:

          Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne,

          In expressing yourself in such an awkward attempt at preeminence, your quest to label your insecurities as faith and your opinions as fact I’m able to fully recognize the abstract concept of *Christian Love* you’ve cultivated is merely the embodiment of a spiritual contortionist with an underlying passive-aggressive weakness.

          Spiritual Christians practicing *True Christian Love* prefer to encourage people in the things they do right and praise them for the things they do well; encouragement and praise are expressions of love. True Christian’s don’t chastise people for what they’re doing wrong, and they don’t criticize them for what they do poorly, because chastisement and criticism require them to judge, and it is not the place of Christian’s to judge.

          Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne, disguising yourself as an agent of holiness by endeavoring to use the Law of God against Steven to justify your own perverted self-righteousness is no less than a measure of deception with the sole intent in producing feelings that God has rejected him as unworthy, unholy, a miserable sinner. By your definition “Grace is denied because Steven didn’t fulfill the conditions!”

          Lest you’ve forgotten, God responds to the cry of the heart and He promised to the saved and unsaved alike in Jeremiah 29:13: “You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart” yet you’ve pronounced Steven to be a sinner which makes YOU (Matthew 7:5) “a hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye” Unless that is; you’re proclaiming you’ve never sinned, however based on your supercilious post, clearly your behavior is imperfect. “Let the one who has never sinned throw the first stone!” John 8:7

          Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne I encourage you to find a healthy way to process your undercurrent of anger. Instead of continuing to live a in a constant state of covert negative insecurities, try exploring ways to express your frustrations and feelings of inner turmoil without sinking to derogatory comments, insults, ad hominem remarks and petty insults. The outcome will be healthier relationships with others, a life of integrity, less internalized stress, and the much needed development of the more Christ-like character you profess to be.

          The first commandment of the Internet is: “Don’t feed the trolls.” And as Luke 9:5 recommends “shake the dust from your feet, and walk away”, therefore you are now dismissed, but in parting I do wish you good luck with your bearing false witness against thy neighbor trolling.

          Like

  5. vschrader86 says:

    I have been following your blog for 2 days. I find myself reading through so many. I am intrigued! I’m left curious, yet understanding. thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings, your views on life and faith and God.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. crissy000wellmade says:

    My pastor always says in so many words: even if God was not…if there wasn’t a Heaven…[which to be clear we wholly believe the word of God and His existence] but if the two did not exist….living a saved life…a life in which we strive everyday to abide by the word of God and become more like as Christ…this would still be the best life! So as you said, your life is so much better now that you’ve given your life to the Lord and made the choice to live for Him. That’s an amazing feeling…and one I myself can hardly find the words to explain. I can my life to Lord last summer and today and everyday since I say that it was the best decision I could have ever made! And I believe that for every person. God has showed up and showed out in so many areas of my life since the day of my salvation. God knows us and what we need better than we do, because He created us. He knows what it takes to draw us closer to Him. I stand with in prayer that you will continue to live for Christ, continue to pray and seek His face with all your heart (Jeremiah 29:13), and that the Lord will show Himself unto you in such a way that you will know and will be able to say, “I KNOW that no one but God could have done this thing for me. I know and have no doubt that my God lives!” God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. papatony08 says:

    I admire your faith that God will erase all doubt, as for me, I don’t look down or feel any ill will towards people who believe., In a way I’m kind of jealous, I feel there is some form of higher power out there, but I’m not sure if I would refer to it as God. I’ve never had one single prayer answered by God even when I did believe. If he exists, then he hates me and has completely and totally forsaken me . .so I guess it comes down to I’ll give God what he’s given me . .absolutely nothing. Everything I do, I do by attracting that which I want through the law of attraction. Again, I am glad for you and anyone else who God has ever helped,maybe he does it like a lottery system and my name hasn’t been picked yet. The Universe is my higher power and I respect all living things with love, gratitude, kindness and compassion and I hope, well, believe, that I will receive the same thing back..

    Liked by 1 person

  8. melisdvash says:

    I think that doubt is a very valuable thing to have. When I have doubt, I am not 100% sure of something, it means that I am open, and teachable. I have in my life had ‘proofs;’ experiences that prove to me beyond a shadow of a doubt that there is a higher power that is good and takes care of me. These proofs are not anything that would help any other person than myself to believe, and I believe that everyone gets the degree of ‘proof’ that he or she needs. The important thing to me is not any sort of proof though, it is that for me, like you, when I act as if there is such a higher power taking care of me and that wants good for me, my life works. Without that, it doesn’t, and didn’t. I use the phrase ‘higher power’ because i am uncomfortable using the more accepted religious words/names. So often people think they know what you are talking about – even if your idea of what the words describes is a universe away. Believe or don’t believe, but keep on acting ‘as if.’ And I will keep you in my prayers. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  9. mitchteemley says:

    Praying for a break-through for you, Steven, that you may truly know the God who is infinitely more than any mere force or principal. “This is eternal life: that they may know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.” John 17:3

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

