Proverbs Chapter 14

 

thCI134UJ4

 

The scriptures are my Lord.

The scriptures are my God.

The scriptures are my Jesus.

 

To me, it’s all the same.

When I follow the scriptures, I’m following Jesus, the Lord, and God.

When I read verses that talk about “fearing the Lord”, I had to stop and think about what that meant. I mean, why fear something that promotes peace, love, and joy? Why fear something that stands for prosperity and all things good?

To me, the answer is simple. I know that if I do not obey the word of God, then I’ll get the other half of the scriptures. Now THAT is something to fear!

 

The house of the wicked will be destroyed, but the tent of the upright will flourish. Proverbs 14:11

Which half of this scripture do you want in your life? It’s a no-brainer, right? Millions of lives illustrate the truth within this scripture. Just look at all the broken homes, the divorce rates, suicide rates, drugs, etc. Homes are destroyed because people are not following the word of God. FEAR THAT!

 

A wise man fears the Lord and shuns evil, but a fool is hot headed and reckless. Proverbs 14:16

Look at the second half of this verse. Do you know anyone who is hot headed and reckless? What type of life do they live? I used to be hot headed and reckless. It was all bad! For me, the price was 43 years in prison. FEAR THAT!

 

The fear of the Lord is a fountain of life, turning a man from the snares of death. Proverbs 14:27

If you do not fear the Lord, then be prepared for the consequences.

 

thYE93MG9I

Steven Jennings

 

PS – I acknowledge that people interpret things differently. This post simply illustrates my understanding as of today. I am always open to grow and expand. So please feel free to share your thoughts and opinions.

As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another. Proverbs 27:17

9 thoughts on “Proverbs Chapter 14

  1. Jason Cooper says:

    Its so popular today to say fearing God is the same as respecting Him. I wonder if any translations actually swap the words. To me, i do truly fear God and tremble in His presence, yet at the same time I choose to have faith that He wants good for me. And all the rest of the time, when His presence is not felt and He is invisible, i choose to respect Him by not sinning yet all the while having that fear in the back of my mind. Yes He is loving, merciful, and kind, but He’s also infinitely powerful and sublime. I don’t think there’s one example in the bible of someone being able to stand before His glory without Him giving them strength. The lesson for me is that we should fear God, truly fear, but more than that we should have faith in Him for salvation, and live accordingly.

    Like

  2. mihrank says:

    Amen – “Prayer is not asking. It is a longing of the soul. It is daily admission of one’s weakness. It is better in prayer to have a heart without words than words without a heart.”

    Like

Leave a Comment

