Proverbs Chapter 17 & 18

dd

 

Starting a quarrel is like breaching a dam; so drop the matter before dispute breaks out. Proverbs 17:14

Out of all 28 verses in chapter 17, this one stands out the most. I’ve been in so many fist fights its pitiful. And they all started due to a quarrel that I was unable to drop. I just kept on and on…until it came to blows. How I Lost My EFV’s For 5 Years, is a perfect example of that.

 

Of what use is money in the hand of a fool, since he has no desire to get wisdom. Proverbs 17:16

After I re-read a post I wrote (With Every Hardship Comes An Equal Seed Of Opportunity), I realized that some of my priorities are out of order. Paragraph five of that post is evident of that, it reads: My passion to make millions has now become a healthy obsession. It’s the main topic of my conversations, thoughts, and dreams. It has consumed me in a healthy, positive way. It sets the bar of balance high. When I achieve financial success, I expect all my other personal characteristics, morals, and attributes to elevate along with it.

What a foolish way to think!

First and foremost, I need wisdom. The kind of wisdom that can only be acquired through the teachings of Jesus Christ. That is what sets the bar of balance high. That is what will elevate all my other personal characteristics, attributes, and financial gain.

Today my passion is in the word of God. My healthy obsession is to live each day in accordance to the scriptures. The topics of my conversations come across with love, understanding and respect.

 

CHAPTER 18

He who finds a wife finds what is good and receives favor from the Lord. Proverbs 18:22

Hey! I found a wife. I found love. I’ve found what is good. And I receive favor from the Lord. AND I’M IN PRISON. The Lord knows no boundaries.

Thank you for reading.

 

thYE93MG9I

Steven Jennings

One thought on “Proverbs Chapter 17 & 18

  1. thisismydisplayname says:

    We do not share a faith but we certainly seem to share a philosophy. “See to it that no one repays evil for evil to anyone, but always pursue what is good for one another and for all.” Thessalonians 5:15

    Deuteronomy’s eye for an eye just makes the whole world blind.

    Peace be with you Steven.

    Like

Leave a Comment

