February 2015 Newsletter

th0B88635O

 

INSIDE/OUT FUNDRAISER
The Inside/Out fundraiser group is asking for your ideas on some of the donation ideas. If you know of a cause that is in need of help or if you have any ideas, please contact Joe Williamson at: jjwilliamson@doc1.wa.gov

THE SUSTAINABILITY IN PRISON PROJECT
I’ll be attending a lecture on “Storm water contamination and how it relates to you”.

EDUCATION
I’ll be attending a class on “Research and Writing”. Taught by contract attorney: Cynthia Jordan

REDEMPTION
Redemption is in its 4th week. I’m loving it.

FITNESS
In addition to my cardio class, I’ve started lifting weights. I’m training for my 48 hour EFV’s. I have until April 2017, to build up my chest, arms, legs, and gluteusmaximus. 🙂

BLACK HISTORY MONTH
In honor of Black History month, SCCC is offering “Learning Journeys”. These learning journeys teach culture and the history of Black America. This is done through speeches, skits, poems, song and dance, all performed by inmates. I must attend one class in order to attend the main celebration.

The Main Celebration consist of outside speakers, songs performed with African Instruments, dance, and an extravagant “soul food” meal:

Fried chicken
Mac and cheese
Fresh greens
Salad
Corn bread
Fried sausage
Vanilla ice cream

Anyone wishing to help fund this event can send a Money Order (account #2986) to:
SCCC
Diversity Black History
191 Constantine Way
Aberdeen Wa 98520

SPRING PACKAGE PROGRAM
Every quarter DOC allows our friends and family to order one food package for us. The order must come from UNION SUPPLY Direct. Package. For more info: WAinmatepackage.com

UPDATES
Last month I wrote a letter to Mr. Grubb (see: Going Above And Beyond). I also wrote to CUS Cherry (the dog program). As of today, I have received no response from either. But I have faith that I will…all in due time.

 

thYE93MG9I

Steven Jennings

Leave a Comment

