Putting The Scriptures Into Action

 

hjjj

 

Today I went outta my way to put the scriptures into action.

Mark Till is the man with the art. I met Mark on the handball court about a year ago. I asked him, “Can I play?”

He said, “No.”

I didn’t like that answer. Years ago, that answer from someone could’ve led to a fight. I mean, that’s just how I was. That day it was so easy to just walk away. Simple. But I walked away not liking Mark. In fact, I down right dis-liked him.

At lunch I sat with him. I never do that! For lunch we had a baked potato with shredded cheese, I ask him, “Are you eating that cheese?”

He looks at me like I’m stupid and says, “Yeaaaah!” His tone spewed, “That was a dumb question” as his head kinda swiveled from side to side and he prolonged his jaw. Even one side of his cheek was raised up and I could see the whole top of half of his upper teeth.

“Would you like mine?” I asked.

He didn’t look at me. He just grunted, “Yeah right,” as he continued to chop at his potato.

I lifted my tray which has five compartments. The cheese was in the upper right corner, so I lined it up next to his cheese. He stops. Looks at me. And asks, “You don’t want it?”

“Take it,” I say.

He takes it and says, “Thanks man?”

“You’re welcome,” I respond with a smile.

He looks at me in puzzlement to my kindness. In my mind I’m thinking, “What is going on?” I almost wanna laugh. But I just ride it out.

***

The day goes on, and soon I’m in the chow hall finishing dinner.

I was walking to the garbage to dump my tray. The entire left two compartments held spaghetti noodles. I quickly observed a weirdo (see: Prison Glossary) eyeballing my tray. He’s sitting just one table from the trash can. He knows these noodles are fixing to get dumped.

To my surprise, he doesn’t pull his eyes away. He’s going to watch these perfectly good noodles get thrown away. I get the feeling he wants them.

I know this dude is in prison for some weirdo cyber child sex crime. I’m gonna dump these noodles right infront of his face!

But wait! Today I am serving the Lord.

So I ask Facebook (that is what the prison hierarchy nicknamed this weirdo), “Do you want these?”

He quickly says, “Yes please,” as he looks at me with wonder in his eye.

He did not expect that! I can almost see the excitement in his face. It reminded me of a dog about to get a treat.

I extended my tray towards his. He quickly stood up, leaned over, and bare handed the large pile of noodles from my try!

“Thank you,” he said.

“You’re welcome.”

He does a double take. Slight pause. And looks around the room. He’s baffled as to why I am being nice.

This is too much. I actually bust out with a laugh.

What is going on?! Is this God working in my life? Or is all this the result of simply following the fundamental teachings in the scriptures?

I have to be honest with you, I’m conflicted. There’s a large portion in my mind that is skeptical. Is there really a God? I pray about this all the time. I wish my mind didn’t have any doubt. But it does. It’s beyond my control. I can’t just switch it on and off. It is what it is.

But I’m not going to let that stop me from living a life according to the Bible. The Holy Bible is my God. I believe in its philosophies and decrees with all my heart. I will commit to God everything I do. I will continue to pray for wisdom and understanding.

I will continue to go out of my way to put the scriptures of God into my life.

 

thLMAZKK6R

Steven Jennings

3 thoughts on “Putting The Scriptures Into Action

  1. gw says:

    Doubt in the beginning is a way of building a solid foundation to understanding your identity in Christ when you recognize you are growing in your trust of Him. Keep reading the bible and keep doing what it says. You’re headed in the right direction.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jason Cooper says:

    Thank you for your writing Steven. You’ve got such an interesting perspective from where you are. I imagine it must be really tough to put the scriptures into action there but you do it anyway. It really is an inspiration to all of us.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Comment

