My Shining Star

I love my beautiful wife and the way she articulates our love.

Suzie M. Jennings

th6H9TAUPQ

I’ve heard many people refer to their spouses as their “rock.” It sounded good to me, so for a while I called my husband my rock, too.

But was I just copy-catting that phrase without truly knowing what it meant to me?

I know what my husband means to me. And when I think of him, he is sooo much more than a rock. So I found a more fitting metaphor that resonates with our love…

He is my shining star!

And I am his shining star, too.

Wikipedia says:

“…Binary and multi-star systems consist of two stars that are gravitationally bound, and generally move around each other in stable orbits. When two stars have a relatively close orbit, their gravitational interaction can have a significant impact on their evolution. Stars, especially when more distant, often appear to the unaided eye as a single point of light, and are then…

View original post 124 more words

2 thoughts on “My Shining Star

  1. lady2soothe says:

    Suzie, funny, my Significant Other always says we’re *Equally Yoked*. I knew it was from the bible 2 Corinthians 6:14: “Do not be yoked together with unbelievers. For what do righteousness and wickedness have in common? Or what fellowship can light have with darkness?” … so wtf does that have to do with us?

    It took several years to actually *get it*… A yoke is a wooden frame or bar with loops fitted around the necks of two animals, joining the pair together. Imagine a farmer plowing his/her field, an ox yoked to one side and a pony yoked to the other. Well needless to say, the pony will be dragged along and impede the progress of the ox. One may pull to the left and one may pull to the right. The primary worker will be pulling more than their fair share and will strain because the smaller/weaker one will go the other direction or just be too slow to keep up. This pair can not work together because they are unequally yoked. They will have little success and the work will either not get done or it will be exponentially more difficult. This is not fair to either the pony or the ox, and simply won’t work.

    So now that I *get it*, are we ALWAYS going in the same direction? lol, no, absolutely not, there are those days when I’m the pony and he’s the ox, or vise versa. But for the most part, a resounding yes because we know each others values, and are able to trust the other to carry the others’ heavy loads on their shoulder until we can get back in sync and pull equally.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

