Love Is Understanding

 

thCAIER92C

 

At one point or another, we all get feelings of insecurities. My wife is no exception. Over the past two years she has voiced her concerns and insecurities. Compound that with anxiety and depression and you have a recipe for disaster.

Suzie and I went through a phase where all her pent up emotions exploded! I didn’t know what to do. So I shut down for a few weeks. That means no phone calls, no emails, and no letters.

Then I realized that by shutting down, I’m giving up.

I love Suzie too much to give up. Especially during her deepest darkest hour of need, when she needs me the most. I am her husband, her best friend, and her partner in life.

I realized it was time for me to man up and do everything in my power to be the person she needs me to be. And it all starts with UNDERSTANDING. So I educated myself on anxiety and depression. I learned what to do & what not to do.

I read an article called: 9 Best Ways To Support Someone With Depression

The #1 thing on that list simply said, BE THERE.

I immediately reached out to my baby and apologized for not being there and for not being understanding.

#8 on the list says, LEARN AS MUCH AS YOU CAN
#9 on the list says, BE PATIENT

I applied everything I learned.

Suzie married me because she wanted to, not because she had to. I am a man in prison for the next 18 years. Talk about sacrifice on her behalf! Of course there are going to be times where emotions arise, for the both of us.

Suzie was 29 years old when we got married. There’s so much I can’t give her. But what I can give her is ME. All of me. All of my very best. I will do whatever it is I need to do. I’m going to love her with all my heart and soul. UNCONDITIONALLY!!!

I am reminded of a previous blog I posted called, Love.

I love my wife. I am making it my mission to truly understand her.

I’m constantly asking her if I can do anything better in our marriage. I asked her to compose a list of things I can do to make her feel loved & cherished. She did. And every day I do a few things from that list.

Our communication is wide open and honest. Today she tells me exactly what’s on her mind the instant it happens. When issues arise, we talk it out until we find an acceptable remedy. My #1 priority is her happiness.

In the past, she would let things build up. This would cause her stress. She wouldn’t speak up because she thought it was stupid or insignificant. And all the while, I would be wondering what was wrong. I didn’t have a clue.

Today I have a clue. I make it my business to truly understand my wife.

With knowledge comes understanding. With understanding comes love. And Love Conquers All!

Life is a journey. We live, learn, and grow. If you love someone you’ll take the time to understand them. With love & compassion, you can overcome anything. With all of this in mind, I wrote this poem to my wife: You’ve Opened My Eyes

 

abc

Steven Jennings

8 thoughts on “Love Is Understanding

  1. Erika Kind says:

    Wow, this truly is an example of love! What else is love than improving ourselve in order to be the best US for the other person. We need to get strong ourselves in order to be strong for the person we want to give strength. Wonderful post Steven. Your honesty and openness is a great example for others.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Jade the Mystic says:

    Understanding is the key not only to love but mindfulness. Actually, everything. When you understand, you can lay down your problems. Whenever you understand, your problems will be no longer to exist. Great post to be shared. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gay Jennings says:

    You are exactly right. You have become a complete person within yourself. That’s the only way you can compliment another human being with love and understanding. I’m so proud of your growth. God is so good. Take care of yourself first and it will flow out to others in your life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

