Lockdown – Day 2

 

thU90YODO7

 

7:45 AM
I woke up to room service once again in this fine establishment. It was cold cereal, powdered milk, a muffin, a brand bar, and an apple. Not bad….I actually like all those things.

I rolled outta bed, put my flag out, and plugged in my hot pot. As I waited, I did my daily reading from the Bible, The Science of Mind, and The Purpose Driven Life.

By the time I was done reading, my water was boiling. I put the muffin on the up-side-down strainer, and watched the steam do its work. Then I enjoyed a hot moist chocolate chip muffin.

As I was on my last bite, they were opening my door for bathroom use. I couldn’t help but to notice how smoothly everything was flowing. I felt a strong sense of peace and harmony.

I came back to my cell and told my celly that today I’m getting my food package. I was kinda joking…but in the back of my mind I thought it was possible.

Then, an hour later, they announced, “Store and food packages will be passed out in one hour!”

I looked at my celly and smiled. He said, “How’d you do that?”

I said, “Lucky guess.”

An hour later I was hauling groceries back to my cell. My celly and I opened just about one of everything…chips, cookies, fritters, banana chips, chocolate bars etc…

We acknowledged how good we have it…despite being in prison and on lockdown.

 

11:30 AM
They passed out lunch: ham & cheese sandwiches, sun chips, cookies, and a banana. Mine is still sitting on my desk, untouched. I’ll probably just give the whole thing away. Except for the banana.

 

3:13 PM
The Sgt. just came by and informed us that they are unlocking all the doors and we will be able to use the bathroom only.

That’s cool. No more flagging. I’ll be able to come and go as I please.

He also said that dinner will be served in the chow hall tonight. And that visiting will be open this weekend. This is good news. It’s a step towards normal operations.

 

4:30 PM
Another memo just came sliding under my door. It says:

MAY 28, 2015
TO: All SCCC Offenders
FROM: Pat Glebe, Superintendent
SUBJECT: Facility Lockdown

Thank you all for your patients with the lockdown. I know what an inconvenience it is for both staff and the offender population. After the afternoon count today, we plan on moving to a modified lockdown status.

We will:
* Run a regular mainline in the offender kitchens.
* Open up the dayroom for use of the restrooms, hot shot, and ice machines.

If all goes well this evening, we will continue to move forward into coming off lockdown.

Friday’s planned schedule will be:
* Morning mainline
* Work lines
* Visitation
* EFVs
* Dayroom activities
* Yard / Gym after lunch mainline
* Insulin and pill line

 

6:30 PM
So it looks like I get a shower tomorrow. I’ll get to check my emails on JPay. And best of all, I’ll get to talk to my sweet lady. I’m actually getting butterflies just thinking about it.

 

9:30 PM
This day is over! Its bedtime…goodnight.

 

Lockdown – Day 1

 

abc

Steven Jennings

One thought on “Lockdown – Day 2

Leave a Comment

