Finding Opportunity In Everything

 

opp

 

I misspelled the word “patience” in an email to my mom.

She corrected me by Googling the word “patient”, and sending me the result. It was 14 paragraphs describing the difference between “patients” and “patience.”

This literally made me LOL. It wasn’t a full blown laughter, such as LMAOROTF, but it was a brief chuckle that could be heard. It definitely met the criteria to be classified as LOL.

As I read my mother’s email and the Google description, I couldn’t help but to think about an email I just sent to Suzie. It said in part, “…let’s use the words of others to motivate and inspire us.” I wrote THAT email because someone said they were embarrassed of our GoFundMe campaign.

Then today as I’m doing my daily reading out of “The Science of Mind”, I read a passage that says in part, “…Suppose someone says, ‘I have made a lot of mistakes in my life, I had opportunities I did not grasp.’ Every man has this feeling at some time in his life. This is a direct belief that there is but one opportunity which comes to a man and if he doesn’t take it he will have no more. This is a belief in limited opportunities and it must be denied completely and specifically.”

So I, being in prison for the last 21 years, could relate to that. Yes, I’ve felt like I’ve missed many opportunities in life. But now I realize that opportunity is LIMITLESS!

And, every word that comes my way is full of inspiration and opportunity. Even the words that say “how embarrassing” or “you spelled that word wrong.” Here is how I’m turning these two examples into opportunity:

 

  1. The “embarrassing” comment – This has inspired me to write my post titled, Our GoFundMe Campaign. It has also inspired Suzie & I to find more crowd funding sites, and to plaster the internet with our ambitions and goals. I’m trying to embarrass even more people. 🙂
  2. My Momma Googling “Patience” – This showed me that my 65 year old mom knows how to use Google and get desired results. So I have asked her to Google “the top 200 ways to make millions using the internet,” then to send me the results so I can review them and select the ones that Suzie & I can execute.

 

My realization is quite simple. I can choose to use the power and energy of others to motivate & inspire. NO MATTER WHAT THEY SAY.

I have cultivated a practical guide to personal freedom within my mind. One of my virtues is: DON’T TAKE ANYTHING PERSONALLY

So with that in mind, NEGATIVE words will NOT affect me in a negative way.

Instead, they will motivate and inspire!

“Listen closely…opportunity knocks softly.”

 

abc

Steven Jennings

4 thoughts on “Finding Opportunity In Everything

  1. Joanna (Lazuli Portals Trilogy) says:

    This is a truly inspirational post. I especially like how you remind that opportunity for growth or change is limitless and ever-present, should we choose to see the potential in every moment that we experience. 🙂 It’s also a great way to fully engage in the present moment, isn’t it?!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

