The Night Is Filled With Peace

 

spaceforpeace4

 

The above title comes from my daily reading from The Science of Mind. This particular section I read is a meditation for self-help. I’ll share it with you…

 

“I wrap myself in the mantel of Love and fall asleep, filled with Peace.  Through the long night Peace remains with me, and at the breaking of the new day I shall still be filled with Life and Love. I shall go forth into the new day confident and happy. I rest in Thee.”

 

Last night at 3:03 am, I was abruptly awoken by the pounding on my door, followed by a loud obnoxious monotone voice saying, “Top bunk! Move for count!”

Now how in the heck am I supposed to remain peaceful through the long night when such a vindictive spirit kicks me in the gut?

I say “vindictive spirit” because not all prison guards take such an aggressive approach. Most will lightly tap on the window. For me, that’s enough, because I am a light sleeper.

Other guards will knock a little louder as they say, “Move for count.” They only say this when they can’t see skin due to the fact an inmate is under the covers sleeping.

And then there’s always that one vindictive guard who comes to work to harass  and cause turmoil. That’s the one I’m talking about in this post. The one with a vindictive spirit who attempts to rob me of inner peace.

It used to work. That loud pounding would rob me of peace and was vexations to my spirit. It would piss me off!!!

Because I would let it. I gave it the power to do so.

The hate and turmoil was already inside of me. All the loud pounding did was give me a reason to bring my own hostilities to the surface.

Therefore, the guard didn’t rob me of peace. I robbed myself!

So last night, when that guard was yelling and pounding, I woke up with a smile on my face. I moved to show him I was present. And then he moved on to the next cell! As I drifted back to sleep, I said to myself, “I love you.”

From now on, when a guard wakes me up, I will use it as an opportunity to say the words “I love you” in the middle of the night. I will specifically view it as an opportunity to acknowledge LIFE and LOVE as I validate the power of mind and impose my own goodwill.

There are a lot of things I can’t control. But one thing I can always control, is my mind.

 

~ THE NIGHT IS FILLED WITH PEACE ~

 

stock-footage-romantic-stars-twinkle-in-the-night-sky-twinkling-stars-form-i-love-you

 

 

abc

Steven Jennings

One thought on “The Night Is Filled With Peace

Leave a Comment

