My 1st Narcotics Anonymous Meeting

 

na

Back in 1996, I lived with a couple heroin junkies at the Washington State Penitentiary in Walla Walla, Wa.

They tried like hell to get me to shoot up that brown liquid syrup. I was offered hundreds of dollars in free dope to “just try it”.

I held my ground and refused. However, I did break weak and smoke some of that icky sticky boom-bonic supersonic chronic. AKA: Weed.

It was only a matter of time before I got caught. My first dirty UA (urine analysis) cost me 180 days of good time.

Thats when I decieded that smoking weed in prison is a bad idea.

To this day I have passed every UA with ease…simply because I don’t use drugs. I’ve been clean and sober for over 10 years.

I’ve never suffered from addiction to narcotics. My problem was alcohol & fighting.

So why NA?
Why now?

Because my counselor told me I must attend NA for 6 months in order to get back my 180 days of good time.

As I’m sitting in my first meeting, the speaker gives a brief speach as to what NA is and how everyone is to introduce themselves.

He explains that EVERYONE is an addict, regardless of how much they used, what they used, how little they used, or how long they’ve been clean.

The introductions start and goes around the room. When it gets to me I say,”My name is Steven, I’m an addict.”

Those words coming from my mouth didn’t feel right. I immeadiatly start to question wheather or not I want to be here. A negative attitude started to creep.

Because the truth is…I am not an addict. I’m only here because I smoked weed 20 years ago. And these meetings were assigned to me in order to earn back 180 days my good time.

I close my eyes and focus…meditate.

I recognize that NOW is the time I need to control my mind and re-evaluate my thinking. Now is the time to put everything I’ve learned into action.

Thoughts are things. And different thoughts create types of manifestation. If I’m negative, I’ll recieve negativity. If I put nothing in, I’ll get nothing out. My perception is my reality.

So right then and there, I changed my mindset. I did away with the compulsive thinking that was leading down a path of negativity. And I replaced it with positive thinking.

Such as : “These meetings CAN help me and assist me in my rehabilitative efforts.”

I came up with a goal : To Broaden My Perspective

I flipped open the big blue book in front of me. It’s called, “Narcotic Anonymous (sixth edition)”

narcotics%20anonymous

As I read through the table of contents I realized I could identify with alot of what I was reading. Especially if I substitute a word or two.

On pg 15, it says, “We can no longer blame people, places, or things for our addictions. We must face our addictions and our feelings.” (I substituted the word “addiction” for “problems”)

I like the philosophies and principals that NA represents. I will use this program to broaden my perspective as I focus on issues within my life that I need to overcome.

And so far, it’s working!

I’ve overcome the “My name is Steven, and I’m an addict” thingy.

I’m focused on the positive opportunities that NA offers. All I have to do is attend with an open mind and a positive attitude. From there, everything else will work out the way it should.

 

abc

Steven Jennings

4 thoughts on “My 1st Narcotics Anonymous Meeting

Leave a Comment

