Newsletter 2015

 

December

 

“If it is to be, it is up to me.”

 

HAPPY HOLIDAYS EVERYONE!

I love this time of year. Sure, I wish I could be out there with my family & loved ones, but that just isn’t possible for me. So I choose to focus on all the good food and wonderful events that are in my world.

Here is what happened this month here at Stafford Creek Corrections Center (SCCC):

 

Family Winter Event – Dec. 11, 12, & 13th from 11am -5pm. These visits are centered around holiday music, crafts, games, and food. Inmates are required to do two workshops to attend this event. The workshops offer informative statistics regarding children of incarcerated parents and also teaches ways that will reduce the child’s risk.

Family Fun Night – Dec. 18th 5-8pm. These visits are awesome! This one was centered around: Winter Crafts. My mom came to this event. Thanks mom, I love you!

Holiday Door Decorating Contest – I love this! This year my wife helped decorate my door! She sent several sketches, paper cut-outs and all sorts of fun things for me to put on the door. Her creativity is amazing! She and I have entered this contest over the last two years, too. (Christmas Door Decorating Contest 2013 & Christmas Door Decorating Contest 2014)

Christmas Joy Concert –  Presented by Tom Flaskerud Evangelistic Association on Dec. 6th at 8am.  The guest speaker was Donell Archer. For more you can visit JoyConcert.org.

The Redemption Project – Violence Prevention…changing the culture of prison.

Winter Blues Concert – Performed live on Dec. 8th from 12:30 -3:30 pm with guest speaker, Dr. Beth Zeigler.

Commissary – Our facility commissary offered special holiday treats. The special items are: holiday hard candy mix, Hershey’s white chocolate bars with peppermint, red velvet crème filled cupcakes, Lil Dutch Maid holiday shortbread cookies, holiday pound cake, Lil Dutch Maid mint crème cookies, Queso Cotija Mexican style grated cheese, peppermint mocha coffeemate, & bridge mix.

Since I have conjugal visits rapidly approaching in 2017, I cannot wreck my physique by indulging in the above items. However, I did order some of the bridge mix. 🙂

Mega Packs – These were sold as a fundraiser for $7.50, with $0.50 going towards a program involving at-risk kids. These mega packs consist of: cookies, candy, chips, cereal, crackers, etc.

 

OTHER NEWS:

  • SCCC has a new Superintendent. Her name is Margret Gilbert.
  • As of Dec. 1st, ALL inmates are required to either be standing or sitting up during the 3:45pm count. NO MORE SLEEPING!

 

Prison doesn’t have to be all bad. For those who want it, there is ample opportunity and resources for positive growth, education, rehabilitation, and healing. No matter where you are or what your circumstances are:

 

Life Is What You Make Of It!

thQE6NM5OX

 

SOCIAL MEDIA:

Real Love Letters – Suzie & I have decided to share our journey from the very beginning. We will be posting our personal letters to show the world how we met and fell in love. A lot of people wonder how a good wholesome Mormon girl could fall in love and marry a man in prison serving a 43 year sentence. This blog will answer many questions as Suzie and I share our transparent back & forth dialogue.

Stone City Blog – A collection of blogs written by men in prison. If you have a loved one in prison, give them the gift of blogging. Our services are free. (For more information, please read: Submitting Blogs)

Suzie M. Jennings – What’s it like to be the wife of an inmate? Follow Suzie’s blog about love, life, & success. Everyone is on a journey…all are the same, yet all are different.

Steven D. Jennings – I am the nations leading blogger from behind bars! I share my journey towards rehabilitation & redemption. Please follow my blog as I share my experiences with you.

_stone _city_

Stone City: Life In The Penitentiary – Please show your support by buying my ebook.

Please follow us on Facebook and Twitter.

Thank you for all the love & support!

abc

Steven Jennings

One thought on “Newsletter 2015

Leave a Comment

