My 4th NA Meeting

 

9712154f5d31a75bac003d2a23ca5564

 

There’s nothing like a Christmas Eve NA meeting. The moon was huge as it hung low in the sky. I thought of Suzie and how lucky I am to have such a sweet, loving wife.

My mood was peaceful and happy as I entered the classroom.

I took a seat up front. Usually I sit in the back.

I volunteered to read. Usually I just introduce myself, then keep my mouth shut.

On this night the class read “How It Works” on page 17 in the blue Narcotics Anonymous book. If someone doesn’t want to read, he can simply say my favorite word “pass”, and the spot-light moves on to the next guy.

I always pass. Until tonight.

When it got to me, we were on the 5th principal. There are 12 in all. These are the 12 principals that make recovery possible.

I read aloud, “We admit to God, to ourselves, and to others, the exact natures of our wrongs.”

The class moved on and the meeting continued. But I was stuck!

I was somewhat amazed. How could THAT particular principal fall on me to read?

This is the exact issue that I am currently working out within myself. This is the exact principal that I’m giving extra focus on.

As I pondered how this could happen that I would be in line to read this specific principal, I realized three things played a significant factor.

#1) I had to be in the right mood. And I was. I was under the influence of Suzie. Earlier in the month she had sent me an email with this picture attached:

 

Christmas Moon

 

So when I saw that full moon in the sky on my way to NA…it was like taking a bong hit straight from her spiritual presence. I was “feeling it!”

#2) Because her influence is so intoxicating, I acted outside of my normal parameter when I took a seat up front.

#3) Because I was up front, principal #5 fell on me.

If I would’ve sat anywhere else, this entire experience would not have happened. (Read My 3rd NA Meeting, and you’ll see why this is significant to me.)

At first I was skepticle about these NA meetings. Now I see the power they provide. I now look forward to NA. Through the power of MIND and positive thinking, I have found another positive tool that is helping me grow and recover. I love it!

 

thFKUU61YO

 

 

abc

Steven Jennings

One thought on “My 4th NA Meeting

Leave a Comment

