Christmas With My Wife

 

a

 

Just before December approached, I asked my wife, “Is there anything I can do for you this Christmas?”

She said, “Hmm, let me think about it.”

A couple days later she tells me, “I thought of something we can do together!”

I respond, “Reeeallly. And what might that be?”

“Well, you know how much  I love Christmas…” she began.

My baby LOVES Christmas! She goes all out. She decorates her house and the tree, listens to Christmas music as she bakes, and much more.

She sent me 20+ Christmas cards throughout December, each one was different and full of love & life. Her words were full of comfort, encouragement, memories, hope, humor, and passion. My sweet lady even sent me a personalized paper Christmas Tree to hang in my cell!

We had date nights watching holiday movies/programs together at the same time. She also sent me TONS of pictures, too. Which I absolutely LOVE!

So YES!!! I know how much she loves Christmas and this time of year.

She continued, “I’d like for us to win this year’s Christmas Door Decorating Contest.”

We’ve done this together for the last 2 years. We’ve placed 2nd and 3rd, but haven’t gotten 1st place yet. So I respond in a skeptical voice, “You want to WIN IT?!”

She says in a confident & sweet voice, “Yes. Win it for us! You’re always telling me that we can do anything we set our minds to. Lets WIN IT! We’ll do it together.”

I perk up and say, “You’re right, baby! I’m going to win it just for you!”

I’ve put over 70 hours in on decorating my door. It looks AWESOME! My wife inspires me to go above and beyond. Every second I spend crafting this door into a masterpiece, I’m thinking of my beautiful, loving wife.

(picture from 2013)

(picture from 2013)

Even though we’re almost 900 miles apart, I feel a strong spiritual connection to her.

She sends me ideas, sketches, paper cut-outs, and all kinds of creativity for the door. I send her samples of those ideas and await her approval, or her suggestions of improvement. And I love it!

I am so blessed to have such a wonderful wife. She soothes my soul and puts nothing but love and joy in my heart. The way Suzie loves me is the best gift I’ve ever received. The warmest, most powerful feelings I’ve ever known are generated by this incredible woman and her love.

Because of her, this has been one of the BEST Christmas’s since childhood. As a matter of fact, she makes me feel like a child again with all the anticipation & excitement she brings to my life. She takes me up outta this gloomy, negative prison environment.

christmas spirit

I have felt the Christmas Spirit so strongly. With every ounce of my strength & energy, I will love this woman the way God intended for a husband to love his wife.

For my wife’s perspective, please read her blog titled, Christmas With My Husband.

 

Merry Christmas!

 

aaw

Steven Jennings

 

PS – We Won The 2015 Christmas Door Decorating Contest!

6 thoughts on “Christmas With My Wife

  1. Sharron says:

    Good for both of you. You are managing to keep the fabric of your relationship even though apart.
    By the way, I have written a book about my son’s incarceration and how he got to where he is in USP Beaumont. It is called WAITING ON THE OUTSIDE. I would like to send you a copy if you are interested and can receive paperbacks. I’m in a Editors poll right now and am #1 for non-fiction so far. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

