My 5th NA Meeting

 

thQMF84X1X

 

When I attended my first NA meeting, I was skeptical. I didn’t want to be there. I didn’t view myself as an addict and I was only there to earn back the 180 days of goodtime I lost for smoking weed back in 1996.

I quickly realized my negative attitude. I knew my thinking was all wrong in that very moment. So I took control of my mind and forced myself to swich gears.

I applied the power of positive thinking.
I opened my mind and gave NA a fair chance.

After I did that, I then created a goal in which I wanted to achieve by attending NA. It was very simple: TO BROADEN MY PERSPECTIVE

This has become more than a goal. It is now a daily theme for me. I am learning to listen to others with empathetic ears. WOW! What a valuable asset.

By doing so, I give myself the opportunity to learn and grow…opposed to when I talk, I’m just repeating things I already know.

Perhaps I’m using this as to why I don’t speak at meetings. I think about talking all the time. But I’m scared! I get nervous. My heart beats faster. And I get very uncomfortable. As a result, I keep my mouth shut.

But it’s only the 5th meeting. I have nothing but time to overcome this fear and one day share with the group.

I bring this up because at this meeting we read from a book called “Just For Today”. The topic was “Being of service to others”.

I feel like my testimonies can perhaps be of value to a select few. I feel like I need to overcome my fear of speaking so I can share with groups of people.

I am inspired to find more ways to serve others. One way would be to speak in front of groups. But until I am ready for that, I can do other things. Such as, I can be super nice to everyone I encounter.

Trust me, easiser said than done! Especially here in prison. But I can do it. I am doing it. And now I am inspired to do it even better.

Because of my goal to BROADEN MY PERSPECTIVE, I realize that my spiritual awakening is progressing beautifully. I realize that I am constantly in the midst of recovery. Therefore; my actions should always reflect that.

My life is my message. Everything I do is part of that message.

Soon I will find the courage to verbally spread my message in front of a group of men, sitting in prison, attending NA. That is what all this is leading up to…finding effective ways to serve as I evolve and grow in my recovery and rehabilitation efforts.

Until next time, love the people around you and be kind. The universe will respond accordingly.

 

abc

Steven Jennings

One thought on “My 5th NA Meeting

Leave a Comment

