My First Dog

 

thTWTIORTR

On January 23rd, I got my first dog. His name is Yahoo. I love it! Yahoo is a black 8 year old, long hair, collie/lab mix. A beautiful dog…that smells VERY bad!

So me and two other handlers gave him a bath. He took it suprisingly well. He seemed to enjoy it at times. OMG…he stunk!

Then we brought him to our cell for the first time. He walked around sniffing things, until he got to the food and water dish where he ate 2 cups of dry dog food and a bowl of water.

Meanwhile, Yahoo is stinking up the cell…bad! It’s evident he needs another bath. And another bath he shall get…in three days.

After Yahoo eats, he continues to walk around. My celly and I just watch him. He soon lays down on his mat. He seems to be getting comfy.

I slowly get down and lay on the floor. Then I inch my way closer to Yahoo. He has a sweet demeanor. But due to all the daily events, he’s a little skittish. Soon I’m stroking his head as we make eye contact. I speak softly to him as I pet him.

His eyes slowly start to get heavy. So I make my eyes get heavy. Then I close my eyes for 30 seconds. When I open them, I see Yahoo’s eyes are completely closed. But only for a brief moment. He catches me looking at him and keeps his eyes on mine. I play the game again and again and again. He will only keep his eyes closed if mine are closed. It’s cool.

His thick fur is still wet. So I get a brush and I spend the next 45 minutes brushing him. All while maintaining eye contact and talking to him.

At the end of 45 minutes I have a ball of fur the size of a football. AND the cell completely stinks. But it’s all worth it. Over time the smell will fade and his coat will improve.

As of now, he has no name recognition, and he knows very little as far as commands are concerned. I look forward to working with this dog and watching him progress.

 

abc

Steven Jennings

Leave a Comment

