An Update On Yahoo

 

Yahoo

 

I just came in with Yahoo. We worked on “Heel” and “Sit”. Then we ran 1 mile. Can you believe I’m in better shape than Yahoo? He get’s tired and slows down. So I speed up and say, “Come on Yahoo…lets go!!!” He tries to catch up but can’t…I’m just too gosh darn fast!

Every time we go through doors, I make him “sit.” Then “wait.” Then I say, “Heel” as I go through the door first. Yahoo follows close behind, then catches up to the “Heel” position. Then we stop, and I make him sit.

It’s awesome to watch this dog progress. Because when I first got him, he didn’t even know his name, much less all the things I’m teaching him now.

He also has learned to go into his crate. On command! I no longer have to guide him in.

The only real challenge at this point is to get him to sit consistently. He doesn’t like to sit. He’s 9 years old and has lumps all throughout his body. So I think sitting is uncomfortable for him. He never sits on his own. He either lays down, or remains standing.

Like right now, he’s calm and relaxed. But he remains standing. We’ve been here at the jpay kiosk for 15 min. Most dogs would’ve taken a seat by now. I could make him sit, but he’d get up the second I take my attention away.

Every Tuesday there is a Dog Program meeting. This is to assess the dogs and monitor progress. Right now Yahoo has a red bandana around his neck. All new dogs get red. The next step is yellow. Then green.

RED means no one can pet him except handlers.

YELLOW means others can pet him and approach him.

GREEN means I can take him with me outside the unit.

I can’t wait for Yahoo to earn his Green bandana. I love watching him progess and learn. This program is every bit as awesome as I knew it would be.

Until next time, love your pets and do something kind for an animal.

 

abc

Steven Jennings

One thought on “An Update On Yahoo

  1. lady2soothe says:

    (I used to work for a veterinarian) You might ask the person in charge of the program or a visiting vet for some glucosamine chondroitin with MSM (my son can purchase it from canteen). At Yahoo’s age, the fact sitting makes him uncomfortable, he has lumps which means he may have hip dysplasia. The glucosamine chondroitin (with or without MSM) is a natural substances found in and around the cells of cartilage and connective tissue, it helps cartilage retain water and maintain fluid and flexibility in the joints. It’s been used in alternative medicine as an effective aid in treating osteoarthritis pain. AND is safe for animals!

    I’ve been using it myself for 6 or 7 years and it will totally attest to it’s effectiveness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

