How To Keep Juvenile Delinquents From Coming To Prison

 

thca8pln57

 

As a juvenile, I served 18 months at Green Hill. I was out for 14 months before I put myself in prison with a 43 year sentence. Approximately 80% of the kids at Green Hill end up in prison. So I asked myself, “What would it take to significantly reduce that number?”

The answer is unlike anything we’ve ever seen. Drastic means requires drastic measures. Here’s my proposal:

Once the juvenile has been found guilty, sentence him to 20 years in prison. Send him to a Maximum security prison full of violent convicts. Make his prison stay uncomfortable and scary. Make this juvenile believe that this is his life for the next 20 years!

But really, its just an elaborate deterrent program that the juvenile knows nothing about. In reality, he gets 18 months (or whatever his juvenile sentence calls for). But he doesn’t know that. He thinks there was some bogus clause in the sentencing guidelines that allowed the judge to give him 20 years in an adult maximum security prison.

As for the Maximum security prison and convicts, they’re in on it too. It’s a specially designed program in a designated section of the prison. Everything is controlled and designed to truly reach these “unreachable” out-of-control juveniles.

As his actual sentence of 18 months starts to wind down, he gets a letter from the court that says he won his appeal. This will serve as an exit strategy that will release the juvenile without exposing the program.

WHY THIS PROGRAM WOULD BE WIDELY EFFECTIVE

You can lecture a juvenile until your blue in the face, and you still won’t reach them. Some things they need to experience for themselves. NOTHING could reach these ”at risk” juveniles the way this program could.

When I was at Green Hill I knew 80% of us would end up in prison. Green Hill is where I learned of that statistic. But who cares? I was the other 20%. So I spent my 18 months kicking it with Crips, Bloods, BGD’s, and thugs. I smoked weed, dropped acid, drank pruno, lied, cheated, stole, and fought. I sold drugs and cigarettes. Green Hill was the absolute worst for me! I came out WAY WORSE than when I went in. I only wish there was an effective deterrent program, like the one I just mentioned. Because I know without a doubt, if it’s done right, it will save juveniles from a life of incarceration.

Please read: How To Engage Those Who Continue With Misconduct

 

abc
Steven Jennings

One thought on “How To Keep Juvenile Delinquents From Coming To Prison

  1. cassandrajanus says:

    Firstly your blog is really informative and very interesting.

    I used to work in criminal defence (“used” being the preoperative word – I was not very good and found it too upsetting). However during my brief brush with London’s underworld, I thought it would be a good idea to show all teenagers what it was like in a cell and in prison and that this should be part of every school program as a preventative strategy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment

